The Comic Book Film Revue

Categories

podcast
general
promotion

Archives

2016
November
October
September
August
June
May
April
March
February
January

2015
December
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January

2014
December
November
October
September
August
June

November 2016
S M T W T F S
     
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30

Syndication

Episode 26: Doctor Strange

Don your floating cape and dive into a world of unimaginable madness as the gang reviews the second Phase Three Marvel Cinematic Universe movie Doctor Strange! What does the gang make of Benedict Cumberbatch as the (not quite) Sorcerer Supreme? What do they make of Tilda Swinton as the Ancient One? Can this film break the curse of bad Marvel love interests and lame villains? Which "Catwoman" actor makes a surprise guest appearance? To learn these burning questions, sneak into the forbidden library, open a scroll and get to downloading!

Direct download: DoctorStrange.mp3
Category:podcast -- posted at: 2:27pm CST

Episode 25 - Batman: Mask of the Phantasm

Donovan leads this month in what might be the most gushing love fest episode to date! He, Chris and Stella return to their childhoods and review Batman: Mask of the Phantasm, recalling their history with Batman: the Animated Series and when they first watched the theatrical film. In this critically acclaimed one-off story, what are the few things that hold the film back for the hosts? Does this surpass Batman and Robin as Stella's favorite film? How did the Joker survive the ending? Which of the B:TAS creators doesn't think highly of the movie? Which of the hosts gives a surprise personally development, shocking their co-hosts? Is this the best Batman film to date? The answers to these and more quizzical queries can be found by downloading, so get down to it!

Direct download: MaskofthePhantasmReview.mp3
Category:podcast -- posted at: 1:08pm CST

Episode 24: Watchmen Review

Chris invites us on a journey back to both 2009 and 1985 where "Watchmen" hit both the comic reading world and the comic book movie viewing world! The third in the Zack Snyder series of reviews for the show, how does this "R" rated adaptation strike the gang? Which of the three saw the film before reading the source material? Which actors did the best job and which didn't as much? Play along and take a shot every time Donovan whines about things not being the same as they were in the comic book!

Direct download: WatchmenRevue.mp3
Category:podcast -- posted at: 3:20pm CST

Episode 23: Suicide Squad Review

Returning after a busy month's absence, Stella brings the show back with a bang in heading up the discussion on "Suicide Squad"! The second of the DCEU 2016 films to be received poorly by the masses, how did the Revue gang take to a film lead entirely by bad guys? Did Stella's coverage of the original comic series written by John Ostrander and Kim Yale excite her for the film going in? Did Don fully understand the plot? Who were Chris' favorite characters, and which ones failed to leave an impression? All this plus deadly Comic-Con adventures and a sneak peek into Don's upcoming new podcast! *NOTE* Apologies for the audio issues in the beginning

Direct download: SuicideSquadRevue.mp3
Category:podcast -- posted at: 1:52pm CST

Episode 22: The Mask Review

S-s-s-s-SMOKIN'! It's another blast from the past as the Revue crew return to the 90s and talk about the 1994 Jim Carrey hit based on the Dark Horse Comic series. Which of the panel still likes the film and which one don't? The answer won't surprise, but what might are the list of random actors seen in other things, which Doctor Who most resembles Jim Carrey in features and performance, and the darker, more gruesome nature of the original comic! Toss your cheesy pajamas in the closet, pop on your bright yellow fedora, and get to downloading!

Direct download: MaskRevue.mp3
Category:podcast -- posted at: 11:11am CST

DC TV PODCASTS: SPINAL CORD RESEARCH FUNDRAISER ON JUNE 11! Podcasters assemble to help cure spinal injuries in a live marathon event
 
 
Tuesday, May 31, 2016 - The DC TV Podcasting Network is teaming up with the Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation to help cure spinal cord ailments on Saturday, June 11, 2016.  
 
Founded by the late Man of Steel himself, the mission of the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation is to discover and fund innovative research as well as improving the quality of life for people who live with paralysis. We here at DC TV Podcasts couldn’t be more proud to be partnering up with the Foundation for this important cause in advancing research for spinal cord injuries.   
Here is how you as a listener can help and participate on Saturday, June 11, 2016, while also enjoying your favorite DC television podcasts for Arrow, The Flash, Gotham, Supergirl, Legends of Tomorrow as well as DC Movies.  
 
The podcasting fundraising event will be hosted via Mixlr at mixlr.com/dctvpodcasts and will begin at 11 AM PST/2 PM EST. The event will feature the great minds of DC TV Podcasts with hosts from Quiver: The Green Arrow Podcast, The Flash Podcast, Legends of Gotham, Supergirl Radio, Legends of Tomorrow Podcast and DC Movies Podcast
 
The event will continue from 11 AM PST/2 PM EST into the evening with all six individual shows. The marathon will then conclude with a special DC TV Podcasts Assemble show featuring hosts from all six podcasts.  
 
Here is the following schedule for when all the live shows will begin:  
 
 
  • Quiver: The Green Arrow Podcast at 11 AM PST (2 PM EST) with Michael Cohen and Amanda Konkin.  
  • DC Movies Podcast at 12 PM PST (3 PM EST) with Chris Doucher and Ashley Robinson.  
  • Supergirl Radio at 1 PM PST (4 PM EST) with Rebecca Johnson, Carly Lane and Morgan Glennon.  
  • The Flash Podcast at 2 PM PST (5 PM EST) with Andy Behbakht, Lauren Gallaway and guest host Jason Inman.  
  • Legends of Tomorrow Podcast at 3 PM PST (6 PM EST) with Morgan Glennon and TBA hosts  
  • Legends of Gotham at 4 PM PST (7 PM EST) with Bill Meeks and Anne Marie DeSimone  
  • DC TV Podcasts: Assemble Show at 5 PM PST (8 PM EST) with multiple hosts of DC TV Podcasts TBA.  

 

 
Starting today, as well as during the marathon, head over to DCTVPodcasts.com/Fundraiser to find out how you can make a donation to the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation. 
 
We at DC TV Podcasts hope to see you in the live chat and enjoy all the exciting programming we have in store for you! Nothing would make us happier than our listeners donating to this significant cause and joining us at DC TV Podcasts in helping the Foundation in funding cures and research for paralysis.  
 
DISCLAIMER: Any podcasts that are represented on DC TV Podcasts are fan podcasts and are not affiliated with DC Comics, Warner Bros. TV, Warner Bros. Pictures, DC Entertainment, The CW, and FOX.  
 
About the Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation:  
The Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation is dedicated to curing spinal cord injury by funding innovative research, and improving the quality of life for individuals living with paralysis through grants, information and advocacy. For more information, please visit https://www.christopherreeve.org/   
 
About DC Television Podcasts:  
 
DC TV Podcasts is a podcast network that features a collection of high-quality and popular podcasts devoted to DC Comics television series, such as The CW’s Arrow, The Flash, Supergirl, DC’s Legends of Tomorrow, FOX’s Gotham, as well as the DC Movies in the DC Extended Universe! Join the hosts of Quiver Podcast, The Flash Podcast, Legends of Gotham, Supergirl Radio, Legends of Tomorrow Podcast and DC Movies Podcast every week for news, commentary and opinions about these comic book shows as well as DC Comics films. 
 
Be sure to check out the main site and give if you can. 
Category:promotion -- posted at: 8:14am CST

Episode #21: Captain America: Civil War Review

CHOOSE A SIDE! The gang joins in talking about the hottest comic book movie of the month based on the Marvel Comics miniseries of which they all have good/bad memories! Civil War sees the introduction of the Black Panther, the introduction of Spider-Man into the MCU, the return of the Winter Soldier plot from the previous Cap film, all while juggling the discussion of super hero accountability in a rift between Avengers Captain America and Iron Man! Which sides do the CBFR gang fall on? How does this compare to the source material? What did die-hard Spidey fans think of Tom Holland? Does this contrast with Dawn of Justice, or should it? All this plus Marvel Comics history via audio files from yesteryear!

Direct download: CivilWarRevue.mp3
Category:podcast -- posted at: 2:23pm CST

Episode 20 - Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice Review

The World's Finest grudge match has hit theaters and the Comic Book Film Revue has more than a few things to say about this much talked about movie! Don's not happy in the least, but what does Stella think? Chris doesn't think much of superhero films catering to kid audiences, but Josh has a different opinion due to his day job. Is the gang united with the rest of the 70% of film goers in saying this movie is a mess, or will Josh's analysis bring them to differing conclusions? And what of Ian Wilson, the Comic Reel-lief host who offers up specific talking points that ponder over the wider nature of comic book movies in general? Will his audio feedback (the show's first!) position the film in a more understandable light? Feel free to send the show any feedback via the new email address at comicbookfilmrevue@yahoo.com, and check out Don's initial thoughts when first seeing the film with friends at Michael Bailey's Views From the Longbox Podcast episode 228!

Direct download: DawnofJusticeRevue.mp3
Category:podcast -- posted at: 1:43pm CST

Episode 19: Ghost World Review

Ghost World, the 2001 film adaptation of the 1990s comic series by writer/artist Daniel Clowes, gives the CBFR gang their biggest challenge yet in that it's unlike anything they've come up against before! The four dive into a world of existential crisis, 50s diners, art classes and Adult shops and come out with varying opinions of the movie centering around two highly cynical teenagers. Which of the hosts are positive and which are negative? Which do they prefer, the comic or the film? How do they take to the first comic book movie in the podcast's history that stars Steve Buscemi? The only possible way to find out is to download!

Direct download: GhostWorldRevue.mp3
Category:podcast -- posted at: 12:31pm CST

Episode 18: Deadpool Review

The Merc with the Mouth gets his due in this month's episode headed up by Stella! She leads the gang in a discussion of expectations for the film during it's lead-up, background familiarity with the source material, thoughts on the film's love story and villains, and hopes for the hopeful sequel! Was everyone amused by Deadpool charms, or did some appreciate the movie more than others? Which actor keeps finding themselves in comic book genre media? How does the movie work as an X-Men film? These and more scintillating questions are answered, or questioned! So suit up, wolf down a chimichanga and get to downloading! (NOTE: Plz excuse some of the audio inconsistencies)

Direct download: DeadpoolRevue.mp3
Category:podcast -- posted at: 12:07pm CST